Craftwork · Crochet Patterns For Sale · Shana's Designs

Denim Yacht Pot

I thought it was time to rework/redesign Granny’s Reticule, my intention was to use Twilleys Freedom Echo dk, 100% recycled cotton, I’d won the bid for it on eBay which suprised me, but I think it was because the yarn was listed as Blue, I’ve always thought of it as Denim, I’m convinced Denim sells better than Blue!!

As I worked through the design, I quickly realised that it was something new, and absolutely nothing to do with the Reticule! Initially it was going to be a bag, but that didn’t feel right, and as it slowly morphed into some kind of decorative piece, I really wasn’t sure, but I mumbled something about a pot, to which Chris smartly replied “a yacht pot.”, and so the design was born!

It’s crocheted all in one, from pot through to the liner and requires some cardboard to give it shape, charts are included, and like Pandora’s Purse, it utilises the modified single crochet stitch.  I’m quite chuffed with the end result and am now keen to design more pots!

Yes there are 3 different yachts, not two different pots!

American Crochet Terms used throughout.

Materials
DK weight yarn in Blue, Red & White
Sample used –
1 ball (50g 100m/109yds) freedom echo d.k. in Blue
½ ball (50g 115m/126yds) Gruendl Cotton Fun in Red
1½ balls (50g 92m/100yds) Stylecraft Cotton DK Classique in White
3.50mm hook
stitch marker
5”/13cm circle of cardboard
15”/39cm x 4”/11cm rectangle of cardboard

Finished Size:
Approximately 5”/13cm diameter, 4.5”/11cm high

Buy now on Craftsy

3 thoughts on “Denim Yacht Pot

  1. I couldn’t resist this, as I know somone who’ll enjoy recieving it.
    It’s now sitting in my ‘to do’ folder, which means it’s probably just as well I was thinking Christmas! Lol
    Thanks for making such a pretty pot, Shana 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

