Another Serving of Raspberry Ripple!

I first released the pattern for the Raspberry Ripple bag in 2013, it’s one of my favourites, but I didn’t do it full justice at the time because I used *whispers* acrylic yarn...I wasn’t too impressed with the original pic either, so a new one was taken in 2016…

Raspberry Ripple Bag circa 2013

Well there is now a new improved version I’m much happier with, the pattern didn’t need any alteration, but I tweaked a few things, like crocheting in the round rather than joining rows. And here is the new cotton version…

Raspberry Ripple Bag 2017

Cotton is so much nicer don’t you think?!

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Cotton definitely looks better. I started an amigurumi last night and after about two rounds I was already planning to make it with cotton next!

    1. Shana says:

      In a way my allergy to acrylic has been a blessing, the only option I have is to use cotton now! 🙂

  2. Gorgeous bag, and the cotton is much nicer looking

    1. Shana says:

      Thank you 🙂 I’m using it to keep my mobile in, nice to know I can crochet something useful !!

  3. It really is much nicer in the cotton, isn’t it?
    My allergy to anything woollen means I use cotton when I want to make something special, as it always looks nicer, somehow 🙂

    1. Shana says:

      If you use mercerised cotton you get a lovely crisp stitch definition, normal cotton is much softer, and some of the chunky cottons are very wool like…I’m turning into a cotton geek lol 😀

      1. Yes, I’ve used the mercerised for making amigurumi specifically because of the definition it brings, and I use the softer cottons when I make summer outfits for my daughter 🙂
        I do prefer it to the acrylics, but tend to use them when making blankets, etc, purely through cost, unfortunately – though I’d use a soft cotton for a baby blanket 🙂
        Do you like the cotton/silk mixes? I’ve used a few of them for garments for my girl 🙂

        1. Shana says:

          I used a cotton/silk mix for my pig bag design, it was quite nice to use, but generally I stick to plain cotton…as I’m posting this, Chris is stood next to me knitting with Acrylic LOL!!

Leave a Reply

