Pandora’s Purse Crochet Pattern

I’ve had the idea to create a “top-down” bag for sometime, but it wasn’t until I rediscovered this pattern that it all came together. Many years ago I swore I would never use black yarn, but no other colour would do this design justice. Fortunately I’ve just moved my craft chair in front of a large window, so with light behind me, and crocheting just a few rounds at a time, I finally finished the pattern. Then had to wait nearly a week for it to stop raining, and for the sun to come out, so I could take pictures!

The pattern is on both sides of the bag and the length of the handle can easily be modified to suit.

American Crochet Terms used throughout.

Materials:
DK weight yarn – 2 x 50g balls (92m/100yds) in Black, 1 x 50g balls (92m/100yds) in White
3.50mm hook
(3.00mm hook for finial only)
stitch marker

Finished Size:
Approximately 8”/20cm long (excluding handle), 6”/15cm wide.

Written instructions, a chart and tutorials are included.

Buy now on Craftsy

6 Comments Add yours

  1. What a cool pattern!

    1. Shana says:

      Thank you 🙂

  2. Lovely pattern, Shana – I had to get it – though when I’ll be able to have the time to make it? . . . . . Lol

    1. Shana says:

      Thank you 🙂 Add it to the ever growing queue!! I’m the same with designs, so many ideas, so little time, especially as I’m currently distracted with Wimbledon!!

  3. Great looking bag, and the black is perfect if hard to use

    1. Shana says:

      Black is a nightmare to work with, but the pattern just didn’t seem to work with other colours!

Leave a Reply

