knots · lucet

Long mat

While the rest of the world (or so it seems) has cottoned on to cotton, I have become a dyed-in-the-wool fan of acrylic. To any yarn purists reading this I might apologise for mixing my metaphors. But not for mixing my fibres 🙂 My latest acquisition (thanks to Shana, who can’t actually use it herself owing to allergies) is a subtle blend of acrylic and nylon. It’s King Cole ‘Comfort chunky’ and I have three of the more edible-sounding colours, among which is one called Dolly Mixture.

Long story short, I hitched a ball of Dolly Mixture to my trusty lucet and rapidly whipped up ten feet of pretty cordage. (For victims of the metric system, ten feet is approximately a few metres 🙂 ) with which I then produced something called a long mat, also known as a Prolong mat. (I followed the instructions in Des Pawson’s excellent book ‘Knots and Splices’.) It measures seven inches long by four inches wide. Admire, if you will, the double passes and all those fancy overs and unders. These mats can be used for putting hot teacups on, or simply as decorative items. This kind of mat can be finished tidily by glueing a suitable piece of felt to the underside. Or not, as the case may be.

If there is enough interest or curiosity, I might even show you how to make cordage on a lucet. We shall see at some later date perhaps…

2 thoughts on “Long mat

Leave a Reply

