How To Thread Beads Onto Yarn

I included this simple tutorial in the pattern for Beaded Favour Gift Bag, but thought it polite to share with everyone 🙂

For this tutorial I used larger beads and wire, just make sure the wire you use threads through the beads when doubled over.

Fold a length of wire in half, and thread the yarn through leaving a tail.

threading beads 01

Thread 10 beads (makes it easier to keep count) onto the wire, making sure you thread it onto the doubled wire.

threading beads 02

Holding on to wire firmly, slide the beads onto yarn.

threading beads 03

15 Comments Add yours

  1. I’ve never actually done this before, so thanks for the tip – it’ll make things easier for me when I do give it a try 🙂

    1. Shana says:

      Happy to have helped 🙂

  2. I have always struggled with this! Thanks so much for sharing 🙂

    1. Shana says:

      You’re very welcome 🙂
      I spent years trying to use a needle, it was either too small to thread the yarn through, or too big for the beads!

    1. Shana says:

      Thank you 🙂 I’m hoping to do some more beading tutorials, but the weather hasn’t been bright enough to take pics!

      1. kelleysdiy says:

        Awesome! Do you have a favorite cleaning hack? I am posting any ideas from anyone and will post where it came from.

        1. Shana says:

          Nothing comes to mind at the moment, but cleaning is what we always seem to be doing due to the proliferation of cat dander!! 🙂

          1. kelleysdiy says:

            Dip a clean cloth or towel in a mixture of hot water and multipurpose cleaner. We highly recommend green products that will be non-toxic to you and your pet. Then thoroughly wipe down as many surfaces in your home as possible, including the walls and baseboards. Focus on areas that your cat primarily likes to relax such as a tabletop or certain room of the house. Avoid dusting as much as you can! This only sends the dander particles airborne, spreading them to a new place.

            1. Shana says:

              Thank you, I use a lot of green products because of severe allergies, thankfully I’m not allergic to the cat!

              1. kelleysdiy says:

                I know what you mean.I have terrible allergies. I am so thankful for the allergy shots I have been getting for the last year. No more sinus infections, none of that….thank goodness…I’m allergic to dogs…yet I have 2 and it no longer bothers me. They sleep in bed with me!

                1. Shana says:

                  I’m allergic to all man-made materials (that’s why I always craft with cotton!), a lot of chemicals, especially anything scented…and more recently…chocolate…well specifically soy lecithin, thankfully there is some chocolate available without it, so it’s not too traumatic!

                  1. kelleysdiy says:

                    I am so sorry you have such terrible allergies. Do you have a free and clear fabric sofener. My brand, doesn’t have the Free and Clear softener sheets, so I did the hack with the sponges…you can see here…saves so much money and I’m healthy. Check this post out…hope it’s helpful! https://kelleysdiy.com/2016/10/03/make-your-own-dryer-sheets/

                    1. Shana says:

                      I’m in the UK and use Surcare for washing clothes, works a treat for me!

                    2. kelleysdiy says:

                      Thank you…I added your idea to the post!!!

Leave a Reply

