Iridaceae Lace Knitting Pattern

This design is dedicated to my Grandma who taught me to knit before I started school. She was one of those knitters that barely needed to look at a pattern, Aran jumpers were knitted in the blink of an eye, while watching TV at the same time!

Shana's Grandma
Shana’s Grandma

I deeply regret not tapping into my Grandma’s knitting wisdom when she was alive, she had so much to teach me. When I’m sat designing new patterns I like to think that maybe she looking down on me, and hope she’s happy with my progress so far.

And for those who may be curious about the name of the pattern, my Grandma’s name was Iris 🙂

Iridaceae Lace
Iridaceae Lace

Iridaceae Lace

Abbreviations
k – knit
p – purl
st/sts – stitch/stitches
yo – yarn over
cn – cable needle
sl – slip
psso – pass slipped stitch over
skpo – sl 1 st, k1, pass sl st over
s2kpo – sl 2 sts together knitwise, k1, pass both sl sts over
k2tog – knit 2 sts together

Cast on multiples of 8 sts + 2 sts.

Row 1: K1 *k2, yo, k2tog, yo, s2kpo, yo, k1* to last st, k1.

Row 2 (And all even rows): Purl.

Row 3: K1 *k1, yo, k2tog, k3, skpo, yo* to last st, k1.

Row 5: *skpo, yo, k3, yo, skpo, k1* to last 2 sts, k2.

Row 7: K1 *k2, k2tog, yo, k1, yo, skpo, k1* to last st, k1.

Row 9: K1 *yo, s2kpo, yo, k3, yo, k2tog* to last st, k1.

Row 11: K1 *yo, skpo, yo, k1, yo, k2tog, k1* to last st, k1.

Row 13: K1 *yo, skpo, k1, skpo, yo, k3* to last st, k1.

Row 15: K1 *k1, yo, skpo, k3, k2tog, yo* to last st, k1.

Row 16: Purl.

These 16 rows form the pattern.

© Shana Rae 2016

Edit 15th Oct 2016: Row 13 amended

10 Comments Add yours

  1. PaperPuff says:

    It’s a lovely pattern. Good name too!

    1. Shana says:

      Thankee kindly 🙂 Not bad for an old Groucho!!

      1. PaperPuff says:

        Lol! I don’t suppose you are too grouchy. Certainly nothing like someone I knew. He was so bad-tempered without ciggies that eventually his family bought him some and begged him to start smoking again!

        1. Shana says:

          The irony is, is that I hate ‘real’ cigs, I roll my own, and very skinny ones too, so it’s barely smoking at all, well that’s my excuse! Knitting keeps me calm, but I must stop trying to light my knitting needle LOL!!

          1. PaperPuff says:

            Or knit with a fag!

            1. Shana says:

              That sounds sooooooo bad!!

  2. Ellis says:

    Very Nice to honour and worship your grandmother thuis way, appearently you love her very much. She’s not around anymore, your mother is? Don’t forget her while she is alive (mothers need Some appreciation once in a wile too;-)
    Nice pattern bytheway,

    1. Shana says:

      Thank you, I think everyone needs some appreciation now and then 🙂

  3. MrsCraft says:

    Beautiful, both pattern and name. 😊

    1. Shana says:

      Aww thank you 🙂

Leave a Reply

