Whysteria Lace Knitting Pattern

I was in the middle of one of my ‘manics’ when I designed this pattern, and because it was precisely what I’d visualised, I was hysterically happy. So I thought I’d call the pattern Hysteria Lace, hmm, maybe.

I bought some yarn last year because I liked the colour and it was half price, just one problem, it’s 4-ply, I don’t really like knitting with 4-ply. So it was left in my stash, unloved and unwanted. Until I designed this pattern.

The colour of the yarn reminded me of wisteria, so Hysteria Lace evolved into Whysteria Lace, well it made perfect sense to me!

The yarn is Sirdar luxury soft cotton, which is still half price! And no, I am not tempted to buy anymore, using it once is enough!

This pattern can easily be knitted into a scarf, or a shawl, or whatever takes your fancy 🙂

Whysteria Lace
Whysteria Lace

Whysteria Lace

Abbreviations
k – knit
p – purl
yo – yarn over
sl – slip
st/sts – stitch/stitches
psso – pass slipped stitch over
k2tog – knit two stitches together
skpo – sl 1 st, k1, pass sl st over

Cast on multiples of 14 sts + 2 sts

Row 1: K1, *yo, skpo, k1, (k2tog, yo) twice, k1, yo, skpo, k1, k2tog, yo, k1* to last st, k1.

Row 2 (and all even numbered rows): Purl.

Row 3: K1, *k1, yo skpo, k1, k2tog, yo, k1, yo, skpo, k1, (k2tog, yo) twice* to last st, k1.

Row 5: K1, *(yo, skpo) twice, k2tog, yo, k1, yo, skpo, (k2tog, yo) twice* to last st, k1.

Row 7: K1, *k1, yo, skpo, k1, k2tog, yo, k1, yo, skpo, k1, (k2tog, yo) twice* to last st, k1.

Row 9: K1, *yo, skpo, k1, (k2tog, yo) twice, k1, yo, skpo, k1, k2tog, yo, k1* to last st, k1.

Row 11: K1, *yo, skpo, (k2tog, yo) twice, k1, (yo, skpo) twice, k2tog, yo, k1* to last st, k1.

Row 12: Purl.

These 12 rows form the pattern.

© Shana Rae 2016

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I really love the lacy pattern you’ve produced, and the colour, too – but the name definitely gets the prize! 🙂

    1. Shana says:

      Thank you 🙂 I prefer quirky names, but sometimes I have to rein myself in because they might not translate too well globally, not everyone gets Brit humour lol

Leave a Reply

