Craftwork · crochet · Crochet Patterns For Sale · Shana's Designs

Almost A Silk Purse

A few years ago I crocheted a little pig purse, but never got around to publishing the design, then I lost my notes, and just forgot about the pattern altogether.

Then I found this yarn, and a phrase popped into my head, ‘you can’t make a silk purse of a sow’s ear’, (Coined by Stephen Gosson in 1579 in the book The Ephemerides of Phialo: Deuided Into Three Bookes – if you really want to know!), and I decided I could, well almost, as the yarn is only 20% silk!
Wendy Supreme Luxury Cotton Silk DK
And here is the new pig purse, perfect size to hold my mobile phone 🙂 Well it’s almost a silk purse!

American Crochet Terms used throughout.

Materials:
Approximately half a ball of Wendy Supreme Luxury Cotton Silk DK
(100g/201m/219yds per ball)
4.00mm Hook
Safety Eyes (or beads/buttons)
marker for crocheting in the round

Finished Size:
Body 5”/12cm in length (excluding legs), 7”/18cm (including legs), 3”/17.5cm wide (narrowest), 4.5”/11.5cm (widest), approximately. Handle length to suit.

buy now on Craftsy

Leave a Reply

