The tale of the twice-knit scarf

Life, some say, is all about a long process of change. Development. Transformation.

Well, so is knitting!

About a year ago, I made a big chunky floppy scarf, using a home-made knitting loom that would probably have been considered a bit primitive even by the Flintstones

This week I frogged it. For the uninitiated, that means I found one of the ends, untucked it, and unravelled the entire thing.

Then I knitted it into a scarf again, in a similar way to that famous work of ‘art’ called Shed/Boat/Shed, where someone built a wooden shed, dismantled it, made a boat out of all the parts, sailed to the North Pole or somewhere, and on their return rebuilt the boat into a shed. Brilliant!

My project will be informally known as Scarf/Yarn/Scarf.

Or, the twice-knit scarf 🙂

This time, though, I didn’t use a loom. I used proper grown-up wooden knitting needles and some basic knowledge of the knit stitch that I acquired while researching loom-knitting methods.

This time the scarf is shorter but much more solidly constructed.

I had to persuade our favourite bear to come out of semi-retirement to model the scarf (I almost said ‘garment’ 🙂 ).

Next, I shall attempt to knit a boat and sail to the North Pole.

Or perhaps not :).

Leave a Reply

