Addicted to Cables

I thought I’d treat myself to a new knitting book devoted entirely to cables. As much as I love crocheting, there is something deeply absorbing about knitting cables, yes I am addicted!

The book is The Harmony Guides: Cable & Aran Stitches: 250 Stitches to Knit edited by Erika Knight. You may need to shop around for a copy as prices vary, I paid under a fiver for mine, including postage, on eBay. The patterns are written very clearly, and some patterns have charts, there are a few errors, but on the whole, an excellent book.

I’ve already knitted a few samples and thought I’d share the pics, 19 stitch patterns completed so far…only another 231 to go!  The yarn I used was some oddments of wool, dishcloth cotton, and some awesome yarn called ‘Creative Cotton Aran’ by Rico, it knits beautifully, and is very soft without losing stitch definition.

Signage courtesy of Chris, pics courtesy of moi.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Wow, the patterns are lovely 🙂
    There are so many amazing knitting patterns to choose from nowadays, sren’t there?
    I could cry sometimes that I can’t knit anymore – far too often I’ll come across something like this, and feel like screaming that i can’t do it!
    Mind you, I’m so busy with my crochet, I don’t think I’d be able to find the time to knit, even if I could any more! Lol
    What are you going to do with all your samples, Shana? Are you going to join them together to make a blanket? 🙂

    1. Shana says:

      So sad you can’t knit anymore, there will come a point when I have to stop, all the years of typing have worn me little arms out!
      I did consider joining them together, but it’s not all the same yarn and wouldn’t really work, they’ll probably go where all my samples go…in the bin…or frogged…or as cat toys!! ❤

      1. Awwww, it’s a shame to get rid of all your hard work 😦
        Why don’t you choose a few of the best, or your favourites, and frame them to put up in your work room? They’d make a pretty reminder of your patience and skill 🙂

        1. Shana says:

          I’ve done that before, and once they get an inch of dust on them, I throw them away, so I might as well avoid the dust and just bin them LOL!!

          1. Yes, I have to admit I avoid dust gatherers as much as possible, so don’t blame you 🙂

Leave a Reply

