All aboard the good ship Waffle

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: I am something of a dilettante.

I dabble.

Not only do I dabble, but I also tinker and potter and pootle.

And eventually, occasionally, I actually get around to doing something.

Frinstance and frexample: a while ago (ask not how long 🙂 ) I was thinking of putting together a knot board as a way to display my prowess at tying a few of my favourite knots.

Until last week, nothing had come of my ‘plans’. But then Shana went and bought a big nine-inch polystyrene doughnut (that’s a ‘torus’ for the more geometrically inclined reader) and before you could say ‘land ahoy!’ she had covered the darned thing in knitting and produced a rather convincing lifebelt, albeit we are about as far from the North Sea Ocean here at Waffle Towers as it is possible to be.

And so the HMS Waffle lifebelt has now become my knot board and we have fixed it to the wall to show off four of my bestest knots.

wafflelifebelt

Clockwise from the top, the knots are the carrick bend, the bowline, the reef knot, and the sailor’s cross.

I tied the knots using red and white yarn to contrast nicely with the blue and white background. I made the yarn into lengthwise striped cordage using a loopbraiding method I learnt a little while ago. The stripes help to show the path of overs and unders that the cord takes when I formed the knots.

More about loopbraiding soon. Meanwhile, I keep getting a stange urge to go and sweep the decks. Don’t know what’s come over me. Next thing you know, I’ll be wearing a captain’s hat. 🙂

2 thoughts on “All aboard the good ship Waffle

  1. I love the knots – that’s something I tried to learn too many years ago now for me to count. Seeing the Torus/Doughnut with those lovely knots on, makes me want to shout ‘splice the mainbrace me hearties’! Lol
    All you need now is a wooden leg, and a parrot on your shoulder, and you’ll be well away! 🙂

    Like

  2. Glad you liked my knotting efforts. I had to look up what a mainbrace was, so clearly I have a lot to learn about life on the ocean wave. Maybe I should rename myself Captain Pugwash? 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

